Windows 8.1 WTF?!?!?!

Disclaimer – I have not used Windows 8.1 for more than 2 minutes as of the time of this writing.

I decided to “upgrade” from Windows 8 to 8.1 to get back the familiar Start button and operations, so I don’t have to F— around with those stupid tiles – the new name for desktop icons.

The upgrade took 10 hours n my i7 quad core with 8G of RAM. So I decided to give 8.1 a quick test drive and guess what? When you click the Start button, it does the same thing as pressing the Windows key did in Windows 8 – it takes you to the stupid tiles screen.

I’m hoping they (Microsoft) got rid of the annoying behavior of bringing up the clock for some unknown reason and displaying the “charms” menu when you don’t want it and not being able to bring up the charms menu when you need it.

Update

It gets worse.  Now they pop up ‘helper squares’ (not sure what the official MS term is) that randomly appear in the upper right and left-hand corners of your screen.  So when you type in something you’re searching for, like Paint or Control Panel, the square blocks the first few results – usually the one you want.

After getting my new computer with Windows 8 installed, I went thru all the pains of re-establishing my cookies and credentials for banking and other websites, plug-ins, etc.  8.1 wiped all those out, so I had to do it all over again.

I noticed my computer was ahead 1 day.  How did that happen?  Changing the date is another adventure in Windows 8.  I went to install MS Security Essentials and it told me I don’t have to, because Windows Defender is better and already installed.  OK.  Then I bring up Windows Defender and it states the virus definitions are 127 days old!

I still don’t understand how and why the clock appears in the lower left-hand corner.  I just know it appears when I don’t want it to and won’t appear when I want it to.  Then it requires one click or keystroke to get rid of it.

The best thing about 8.1?  The very colorful default wallpaper.  They ditched the dull Seattle Space Needle rendition.

I am so glad Microsoft doesn’t make cars!

This entry was posted in Microsoft, Software Stupidity. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

